Wednesday, March 21, 2012

from AKC: Ventura County Cities to Consider Mandatory Spay/Neuter for “Pit bulls”

 

 
Dear AKC Delegates, Club Officers, Judges and Breeders,
Please pass this information on to any of your club members in the Ventura County area.
The Ventura County Animal Services Commission has proposed an ordinance to require the sterilization of all "pit bulls" over sixteen weeks of age unless the dog qualifies for a medical exemption, is registered with the American Kennel Club, United Kennel Club or other national registry, or is a law enforcement dog. The draft ordinance defines "pit bulls" as Staffordshire Bull Terriers, American Pit Bull Terriers, American Staffordshire Terriers and any mixed breed dog containing these breeds. A first violation of this ordinance would result in a fine of up to $100 and additional violations could cost up to $500.
The proposal will go before each of the cities that contract with the county for animal services and once it has been approved by a majority, it will be taken up by the Ventura County Board of Supervisors. Responsible dog owners and breeders are encouraged to contact their elected officials at the city and county level and ask them to oppose this discriminatory ordinance.
The AKC opposes the mandatory spay/neuter of purebred dogs as well as ordinances that are breed-specific. Many owners of these breeds are extremely responsible, yet breed-specific proposals may prevent these owners from freely interacting with, showing, breeding or performing pet therapy with their dogs.  Shelter costs could also increase under this ordinance as citizens abandon pets of the targeted breeds in order to avoid paying the substantial fines to reclaim an animal.  Lastly, breed-specific laws may not withstand legal challenges because proper identification of what dogs would be included is difficult or impossible, and may be deemed unconstitutionally vague. 
AKC appreciates the efforts of Ventura County Animal Services to address this issue. For the last year the department has offered free sterilization for any "pit bulls" that have been impounded and returned to their owners. The county also charges $125 for adoption, but lowers that fee to $62.50 for those who adopt dogs they have determined to be "pit bulls." Additionally, Valley Vet Nonprofit offers $10 spay/neuters that include pick-up and drop-off of the animals.
What You Can Do:
  • Responsible dog owners and breeders are encouraged to contact the members of your city council as well as the Ventura County Supervisors in opposition to this measure. A sample letter to personalize is attached. The cities of Ventura, Simi Valley and Oxnard are listed first as they are expected to take up this issue in March.
City of Ventura
501 Poli Street
Ventura, Ca 93002-0099
Councilmembers may be contacted via telephone at 805-654-7827 or by sending an email to council@cityofventura.net .
 
Deputy Mayor Cheryl Heitmann cheitmann@ci.ventura.ca.us
Councilmember Neal Andrews nandrews@ci.ventura.ca.us
Councilmember Brian Brennan bbrennan@ci.ventura.ca.us
Councilmember James L. Monahan jmonahan@ci.ventura.ca.us
Councilmember Carl E. Morehouse cmorehouse@ci.ventura.ca.us   
Councilmember Christy Weir cweir@ci.ventura.ca.us
The City of Simi Valley
Simi Valley City Hall
2929 Tapo Canyon Road
Simi Valley, CA 93063
 
Mayor Bob Huber bhuber@simivalley.org
Mayor Pro Tem Barbra Williamson bwilliam@simivalley.org
Council Member Glenn T. Becerra gbecerra@simivalley.org
Council Member Steven T. Sojka ssojka@simivalley.org
Council Member Mike Judge mjudge@simivalley.org
City of Oxnard
305 W. Third Street
Oxnard, CA 93030
Mayor Dr. Thomas E. Holden drtomholden@aol.com
Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Irene G. Pinkard irene.pinkard@ci.oxnard.ca.us
Councilman Bryan A. MacDonald  bryan.macdonald@ci.oxnard.ca.us
Councilman Tim Flynn timbflynn@gmail.com
Councilmember Carmen Ramirez carmen4oxnard@gmail.com
City of Moorpark
799 Moorpark Avenue
Moorpark, CA 93021
Councilmembers may be reached at 805.517.6222 or by e-mail as a group at citycouncil@ci.moorpark.ca.us .
Mayor Janice R. Parvin jparvin@ci.moorpark.ca.us
Mayor Pro Tem David Pollack dpollock@ci.moorpark.ca.us
Councilmember Roseann Mikos, PhD rmikos@ci.moorpark.ca.us
Councilmember Keith F. Millhouse kmillhouse@ci.moorpark.ca.us
Councilmember Mark Van Dam mvandam@ci.moorpark.ca.us
City of Fillmore
Fillmore City Hall
250 Central Avenue
Fillmore, CA 93015
Mayor Gayle Washburn gwashburn@ci.fillmore.ca.us
Mayor Pro Tem Jamey Brooks jbrooks@ci.fillmore.ca.us
Council Member Eduardo Gonzalez egonzalez@fillmoreca.com
Council Member Steve Conaway sconaway@ci.fillmore.ca.us
Council Member Brian Sipes bsipes@ci.fillmore.ca.us
City of Port Hueneme
250 North Ventura Road
Port Hueneme, CA 93041
The full council can be emailed at councilwebmail@ci.port-hueneme.ca.us
Mayor Douglas A. Breeze  douglasbreeze@yahoo.com
Mayor Pro Tem Ellis Green meengreen@gmail.com
Council Member Norman E. Griffaw normangriffaw@hotmail.com
Council Member Sylvia Munoz Schnopp sylviaschnopp@yahoo.com
Council Member Jonathon Sharkey jon@sharkey.com
City of Camarillo
601 Carmen Drive
Camarillo, CA 93010
The full council can be emailed at council@ci.camarillo.ca.us.  
Mayor Jan McDonald
Vice Mayor Charlotte Craven
Councilmember Mike Morgan
Councilmember Don Waunch
Councilmember Kevin Kildee
City of Santa Paula
P.O. Box 569
Santa Paula, CA 93061
The full council can be emailed at info@ci.santa-paula.ca.us
Mayor Fred W. Robinson
Vice Mayor Robert S. Gonzales
Councilmember Richard C. Cook
Councilmember Ralph J. Fernandez
Councilmember James Tovias
City of Ojai
Ojai City Hall
401 South Ventura Street
P.O. Box 1570
Ojai, CA 93024 
Mayor Betsy Clapp clapp@ci.ojai.ca.us
Mayor Pro Tem Paul Blatz blatz@ci.ojai.ca.us  
Council Member Sue Horgan horgan@ci.ojai.ca.us  
Council Member Carol Smith smith@ci.ojai.ca.us
Council Member Carlon Strobel strobel@ci.ojai.ca.us or carlon-strobel@roadrunner.com
Ventura County Board of Supervisors
Ventura County Government Center
800 South Victoria Avenue
Ventura, CA 93009
 
First District – Supervisor Steve Bennett steve.bennett@ventura.org
Second District – Supervisor Linda Parks  Linda.Parks@ventura.org
Third District – Supervisor Kathy Long kathy.long@ventura.org
Fourth District - Supervisor Peter C. Foy supervisorfoy@ventura.org
Fifth District - Supervisor John C. Zaragoza John.zaragoza@ventura.org
 
 

No comments:

Post a Comment

DOGS Alert CA AB 485-Pet Store Rescue Monopoly

CA AB 485 to be heard in Committee June 26 CA AB 485 heads to the Senate Business, Professions and Economic Development Committee to be ...